Malik replaces Maqsood in Pakistan’s T20 World Cup squad


Veteran cricketer Shoaib Malik has replaced injured Sohaib Maqsood in Pakistan’s T20 World Cup squad.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has confirmed that Malik has replaced Maqsood and will join the team in the bio-secure bubble for the event in Lahore. Maqsood got injured during the National T20 Cup and has been advised to rest by PCB’s medical chief, Dr. Najib.

Malik will be playing his sixth T20 World Cup since he captained Pakistan in the inaugural edition of the mega event in 2007.

Pakistan squad

Babar Azam (captain, Central Punjab), Shadab Khan (vice-captain, Northern), Asif Ali (Northern), Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Haider Ali (Northern), Haris Rauf (Northern), Hasan Ali (Central Punjab), Imad Wasim (Northern), Mohammad Hafeez (Central Punjab), Mohammad Nawaz (Northern), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper, Sindh), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Shoaib Malik (Central Punjab)

Traveling reserves – Khushdil Shah (Southern Punjab), Shahnawaz Dahani (Sindh) and Usman Qadir (Central Punjab)

Player Support Personnel: Mansoor Rana (manager), Saqlain Mushtaq (interim head coach), Shahid Aslam (assistant to head coach), Matthew Hayden (batting consultant), Vernon Philander (bowling consultant), Cliffe Deacon (physiotherapist), Drikus Saaiman (strength and conditioning coach), Abdul Majeed (fielding coach), Talha Ejaz (team analyst), Col (retd) Muhammad Imran (Security Manager), Ibrahim Badees (media and digital manager), Dr Najeeb Soomro (team doctor) and Malang Ali (Masseur)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here