Sarfaraz, Fakhar, Haider come in Pakistan’s squad for T20 WC


Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) made three changes in the national team’s squad for T20 World Cup just before the players were about to enter the bio-secure bubble in Lahore.

Sarfaraz Ahmed and Haider Ali replaced Azam Khan and Mohammad Hasnain respectively, while Fakhar Zaman, who was originally named as a travel reserve, has swapped places with Khushdil Shah.

Saqlain Mushtaq has been named interim head coach of the Pakistan team for the mega event. The team management also include Mansoor Rana (manager), Shahid Aslam (assistant head coach), Matthew Hayden (batting consultant), Vernon Philander (bowling consultant), Cliffe Deacon (physiotherapist), Drikus Saaiman (strength and conditioning coach), Abdul Majeed (fielding coach), Talha Ejaz (team analyst), Col (retd) Muhammad Imran (Security Manager), Ibrahim Badees (media and digital manager), Dr Najeeb Soomro (team doctor) and Malang Ali (Masseur).

Pakistan’s 15-player squad

Babar Azam (captain, Central Punjab)
Shadab Khan (vice-captain, Northern)
Asif Ali (Northern)
Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
Haider Ali (Northern)
Haris Rauf (Northern)
Hasan Ali (Central Punjab)
Imad Wasim (Northern)
Mohammad Hafeez (Central Punjab)
Mohammad Nawaz (Northern)
Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper, Sindh)
Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
Sohaib Maqsood (Southern Punjab)

Traveling reserves – Khushdil Shah (Southern Punjab), Shahnawaz Dahani (Sindh) and Usman Qadir (Central Punjab)

Pakistan team is scheduled to travel to the UAE on October 15 where the mega event will start on October 17 with qualifiers. Pakistan to play against arch-rivals India in their first match of the event on October 24.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here