The National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam ul Haq today has announced 16-member squad in a press conference at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore for the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka at the UAE. As expected after the retirement of former captains Misbah ul Haq and Younis Khan, the board has selected more young players for the test series.

The selection committee has decided to try five uncapped players including Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Asghar and Bilal Asif. Sami Aslam has also been recalled for the test squad.

“We are trying our youngsters. Usman Salahuddin and Haris Sohail have been part of the squad in the last two to three series so that we can play them when the seniors retire,” Pakistan chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq told reporters in Lahore,” told the chief selector. “I wanted to give them opportunity in home conditions to boost their confidence. We are hopeful they can fulfil the spots left by the retirements,” he added.

The first Test match will commence from September 28, 2017 to October 2, 2017 in Abu Dhabi. The second and final Test match will be a day-night Test match starting in Dubai from October 6, 2017 to October 10, 2017.

The selected players are;

  1. Azhar Ali
  2. Shan Masood
  3. Sami Aslam
  4. Babar Azam
  5. Asad Shafiq
  6. Haris Sohail
  7. Usman Salahuddin
  8. Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain) (WK)
  9. Mohammad Amir
  10. Wahab Riaz
  11. Hasan Ali
  12. Mohammad Abbas
  13. Mir Hamza
  14. Yasir Shah
  15. Bilal Asif
  16. Mohammad Asghar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here