Tabish finally comes closer to Test debut as team announced for SA series


Tabish Khan, a First-Class performer, finally gets a national call when he was named in 20 probables for the upcoming home Test series against South Africa.

Khan, who has taken 598 wickets in First-Class cricket, is the oldest pick in the 20-members preliminary squad.

Besides Tabish, eight other uncapped players were picked up by the selection committee headed by the newly appointed chief selector. The uncapped players include Abdullah Shafique, Imran Butt, Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, and Haris Rauf.

Hasan Ali, on the other hand, has made a comeback after a strong show with a century in the final of Quaid-e-Azam trophy this year. Hasan, whose ninth and last Test appearance was against South Africa in Johannesburg, took 43 wickets and scored 273 runs in Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas, Shan Masood and Zafar Gohar were dropped based on their performance while Naseem Shah had shown his unavailability after complaining of a niggle in his hamstring.

The 20-player squad is:

Openers – Abid Ali (Central Punjab), Abdullah Shafique (Central Punjab) and Imran Butt (Balochistan)

Middle-order batsmen – Azhar Ali (Central Punjab), Babar Azam (captain, Central Punjab), Fawad Alam (Sindh), Kamran Ghulam (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Salman Ali Agha (Southern Punjab) and Saud Shakeel (Sindh)

All-rounders – Faheem Ashraf (Central Punjab) and Mohammad Nawaz (Northern)

Wicketkeepers – Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Sarfaraz Ahmed (Sindh)

Spinners – Nauman Ali (Northern), Sajid Khan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Yasir Shah (Balochistan)

Fast bowlers – Haris Rauf (Northern), Hasan Ali (Central Punjab), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Tabish Khan (Sindh)

Read: Misbah on front-foot, Cricket Committee gives last chance against SA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here